Yesterday was a Jonah day. 

The little boy was so miserable and fussy and wouldn’t let me put him down, not even to take a shower – I turned on the water and had shampoo in my hair and then he started screaming again. I spent the night before propped up on pillows with him in my lap nursing. and the day after looked like this:

She poured my tea all over me before I got to drink it.

She broke a supposedly unbreakable bowl and shards were all over the kitchen floor. 

He cried every time i put him down and i couldn’t find the sling.

She threw her chocolate chip muffin on the carpet and stepped on it.

She screamed MOMMY MOMMY MOMMY hysterically for thirty minutes after she went to bed and nothing could soothe her.

but these things also happened:

We didn’t turn on the TV once and she played alone on her room again for the first time since he was born.

We played hide and seek in the backyard.

He smiled all through his bath and cooed when we rubbed baby oil on his skin.

Last night he finally let me lay him down and then he slept from 10:30 to 2:30am. Four hours! ! And he woke up for a feeding again at 5. I got to sleep for four hours straight!

And this morning he has flashed me smiles AT LEAST six times and cooed back at me when I tell him he is a good sweet boy.  today must be the rainbow after a Jonah day.

Leave a Reply

